The Sixth Extinction

The Sixth Extinction

ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR A major book about the future of the world, blending intellectual and natural history and field reporting into a powerful account of the mass extinction unfolding before our eyes Over the last half a billion years, there have been five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In The Sixth Extinction, two-time winner of the National Magazine Award and New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert draws on the work of scores of researchers in half a dozen disciplines, accompanying many of them into the field: geologists who study deep ocean cores, botanists who follow the tree line as it climbs up the Andes, marine biologists who dive off the Great Barrier Reef. She introduces us to a dozen species, some already gone, others facing extinction, including the Panamian golden frog, staghorn coral, the great auk, and the Sumatran rhino. Through these stories, Kolbert provides a moving account of the disappearances occurring all around us and traces the evolution of extinction as concept, from its first articulation by Georges Cuvier in revolutionary Paris up through the present day. The sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy; as Kolbert observes, it compels us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human.


Author
Publisher Henry Holt and Company
Release Date
ISBN 0805099794
Pages 336 pages
Rating 4/5 (99 users)

More Books:

The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Elizabeth Kolbert
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-02-11 - Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR A major book about the future of the world, blending intellectual and natural history and fiel
The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Elizabeth Kolbert
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-02-13 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Over the last half a billion years, there have been five mass extinctions of life on earth. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth, pred
The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Terry Glavin
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-06-10 - Publisher: Macmillan

The Sixth Extinction is a haunting account of the age in which we live. Ecologists are calling it the Sixth Great Extinction, and the world isn't losing just it
The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: James Rollins
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-08-28 - Publisher: Hachette UK

The NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author returns with a gripping, high-concept adventure thriller in the Sigma Force series - for fans of Dan Brown and Michael Cri
The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 456
Authors: D. Leonard Freeston
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-08-15 - Publisher: Dundurn

While detective Irina Drach and her partner Hudson investigate a cop's murder and his German shepherd's disappearance, they uncover a billionaire's plot to coll
The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History...Summarized
Language: en
Pages: 29
Authors: J.J. Holt
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-03-10 - Publisher: J.J. Holt

This is a summary of The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History...Summarized by J.J. Holt
The Sixth Extinction. Part Two: Ruin
Language: en
Pages: 113
Authors: Glen Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Glen Johnson

A pandemic has swept the globe, decimating humanity, affecting all who breathe in its deadly spores. The Sixth Extinction Series follows a collection of people
The Sixth Extinction. Part One: Outbreak
Language: en
Pages: 127
Authors: Glen Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-11-30 - Publisher: Glen Johnson

Mankind is no longer at the top of the food chain. The Sixth Extinction is an apocalyptic tale about a pandemic that sweeps the globe, decimating the human race
The Sixth Extinction: by Elizabeth Kolbert | Key Takeaways, Analysis & Review
Language: en
Pages: 32
Authors: Instaread
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-15 - Publisher: Instaread Summaries

The Sixth Extinction: by Elizabeth Kolbert | Key Takeaways, Analysis & Review Preview: The Sixth Extinction is a book by award winning journalist, Elizabeth Kol
Summary and Analysis of The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History
Language: en
Pages: 30
Authors: Worth Books
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-02-14 - Publisher: Open Road Media

So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of The Sixth Extinction tells you what you need to know—before or after you read Elizabeth Kolbert’s bo