Talking with My Mouth Full

Talking with My Mouth Full

What does America really eat? Which recipes do real home cooks turn to again and again? More often than not, they are dishes handed down from great aunts and painstakingly copied out of smudged recipe boxes rather than the creations of celebrity chefs. Bonny Wolf, food commentator for NPR's "Weekend Edition", writes about the great regional and family food traditions in this country—birthday cake and dinner party food, hearty American breakfasts and Fourth of July picnic dishes. In Talking with My Mouth Full, she writes stories about food, and also about the people who eat it. This book gives a snapshot of the American traditions that have contributed to what and how we eat. Food trends come and go, but many delightful national treasures—bundt cake, barbecue, roast chicken, fair food—are timeless. Each of Bonny Wolf's chapters, whether she's writing about true regional specialties like Minnesota's wild rice, Texas' Blue Bell ice cream or Maryland's famous crab cakes or about family favorites like noodle pudding or Irish raisin soda bread, ends with a perfectly chosen group of recipes, tantalizing and time-tested. In the tradition of Laurie Colwin's Home Cooking, Talking with My Mouth Full is a book you will turn to over and over for wonderful food writing and recipes for comfort food, a great nosh, or the ideal covered dish to take to a potluck supper.


Author
Publisher St. Martin's Press
Release Date
ISBN 1466859687
Pages 272 pages
Rating 4/5 (85 users)

More Books:

Talking with My Mouth Full
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Bonny Wolf
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-12-10 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

What does America really eat? Which recipes do real home cooks turn to again and again? More often than not, they are dishes handed down from great aunts and pa
Talking with My Mouth Full
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Gail Simmons
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-02-21 - Publisher: Hachette UK

When Top Chef judge Gail Simmons first graduated from college, she felt hopelessly lost. All her friends were going to graduate school, business school, law sch
Atlantis Legacy: Volume 1
Language: en
Pages: 898
Authors: Lindsey Sparks
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-23 - Publisher: Rubus Press

The first three novels in the Atlantis Legacy. Some secrets are buried for a reason. She’s about to uncover the deadliest secret of all... Anxious and reclusi
The Talking Horse and Other Tales
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: F. Anstey
Categories: American fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1892 - Publisher:

Attack on Planet Falrus
Language: en
Pages: 165
Authors: Joanna Monigatti
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-05-13 - Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing & Rights Agency

Falrus is a small planet in the First Galaxy, far away from Earth. This idyllic world is separated from the darker and little-understood half of the First Galax
Seeing Things
Language: en
Pages: 261
Authors: Gerry Eugene
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2023-01-16 - Publisher: Next Chapter

Seeing Things is collection of lyrical narratives that focus on joy, grief, courage, fear, love. The twenty-three visions in this collection wrestle with the un
I Speak Boy
Language: en
Pages: 370
Authors: Jessica Brody
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-04 - Publisher: Delacorte Press

A phone-obsessed twelve-year-old girl, frustrated by the cryptic boys in her life, discovers a magic app that can read boys' thoughts in this modern-day retelli
Electro
Language: en
Pages: 196
Authors: Elise Brassell
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-08-17 - Publisher: Dorrance Publishing

Electro: Book One – The Thunder Series By: Elise Brassell Electro is your average high school girl with average high school worries, except for her ability to
Supper Club
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Lara Williams
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-04 - Publisher: Penguin UK

Riotously fun and uplifting, a coming-of-age story about difficult friendships, delicious feasts, and taking control of your body and your happiness - a richly
The Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Susan McBride
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-12-17 - Publisher: Harper Collins

In the second installment of Susan McBride’s Debutante Dropout mystery series, Dallas heiress Andrea Kendricks must expose a high-society assassin … before