Nightingales

Nightingales

Florence Nightingale was for a time the most famous woman in Britain–if not the world. We know her today primarily as a saintly character, perhaps as a heroic reformer of Britain’s health-care system. The reality is more involved and far more fascinating. In an utterly beguiling narrative that reads like the best Victorian fiction, acclaimed author Gillian Gill tells the story of this richly complex woman and her extraordinary family. Born to an adoring wealthy, cultivated father and a mother whose conventional facade concealed a surprisingly unfettered intelligence, Florence was connected by kinship or friendship to the cream of Victorian England’s intellectual aristocracy. Though moving in a world of ease and privilege, the Nightingales came from solidly middle-class stock with deep traditions of hard work, natural curiosity, and moral clarity. So it should have come as no surprise to William Edward and Fanny Nightingale when their younger daughter, Florence, showed an early passion for helping others combined with a precocious bent for power. Far more problematic was Florence’s inexplicable refusal to marry the well-connected Richard Monckton Milnes. As Gill so brilliantly shows, this matrimonial refusal was at once an act of religious dedication and a cry for her freedom–as a woman and as a leader. Florence’s later insistence on traveling to the Crimea at the height of war to tend to wounded soldiers was all but incendiary–especially for her older sister, Parthenope, whose frustration at being in the shade of her more charismatic sibling often led to illness. Florence succeeded beyond her wildest dreams. But at the height of her celebrity, at the age of thirty-seven, she retired to her bedroom and remained there for most of the rest of her life, allowing visitors only by appointment. Combining biography, politics, social history, and consummate storytelling, Nightingales is a dazzling portrait of an amazing woman, her difficult but loving family, and the high Victorian era they so perfectly epitomized. Beautifully written, witty, and irresistible, Nightingales is truly a tour de force.


Author
Publisher Random House
Release Date
ISBN 0307431533
Pages 592 pages
Rating 4/5 (30 users)

More Books:

Nightingales
Language: en
Pages: 592
Authors: Gillian Gill
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-12-18 - Publisher: Random House

Florence Nightingale was for a time the most famous woman in Britain–if not the world. We know her today primarily as a saintly character, perhaps as a heroic
Interpreting Nightingales
Language: en
Pages: 299
Authors: Jeni Williams
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 1997-07-01 - Publisher: A&C Black

The poetic nightingale is so familiar it seems hardly to merit serious attention. Yet its ubiquity is significant, suggesting associations with erotic love, pat
Healing the Nightingales
Language: en
Pages: 104
Authors: Jackie Mulanax
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-03-01 - Publisher: Lulu.com

One hundred years ago, Florence Nighingale ventured into making nursing a profession. Since then, nurses have been called and many have experienced one of the s
Nightingales in Berlin
Language: en
Pages: 184
Authors: David Rothenberg
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019 - Publisher:

A celebrated figure in myth, song, and story, the nightingale has captivated the imagination for millennia, its complex song evoking a prism of human emotions,
Two Nightingales
Language: en
Pages: 7
Authors: Ant Hackel
Categories: Vocal duets with piano
Type: BOOK - Published: 1859 - Publisher:

The Liverpool Nightingales
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Kate Eastham
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-01-10 - Publisher: Penguin UK

FOLLOWING ON FROM KATE EASTHAM'S DEBUT THE NIGHTINGALE NURSES Liverpool 1867. Stella works in a brothel near the docks, but when one of her regular customers fa
Nightingales at War
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Donna Douglas
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-05-07 - Publisher: Random House

As the war takes its toll, the Nightingale nurses must do their bit for king and country... Dora is the devoted mother of twin babies but, determined to help th
Nightingales on Call
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: Donna Douglas
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-24 - Publisher: Random House

From the author of The Nightingale Girls, The Nightingale Sisters and The Nightingale Nurses – perfect for fans of Call the Midwife 1937 sees new challenges f
Nightingales in November
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Mike Dilger
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-05-19 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Have you ever wondered what 'our' birds get up to when they're not pinching our peanuts, pilfering our pyracantha berries or nesting under the eaves of our home
Nightingales Under the Mistletoe
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Donna Douglas
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-11-05 - Publisher: Random House

Christmas 1941 and the nurses at the Nightingale are facing their toughest winter yet. With shortages everywhere, and every news bulletin announcing more defeat