Crosshairs on the Kill Zone

Crosshairs on the Kill Zone

From the jungles of Vietnam to the unforgiving deserts of Afghanistan and Iraq, one breed of soldier has achieved legendary status in the arena of combat—the sniper. From the authors of the classic sniper chronicle One Shot-One Kill comes a new generation of true tales from some of the most expert and deadly marksmen in the world. Meet Adelbert Waldron II, whose 109 confirmed kills in Vietnam made him the most successful sniper in American military history, and Tom "Moose" Ferran, who coined the term "Fetch!", whereupon the infantry would retrieve the sniper's dead quarry. Also included are stories from snipers in Beirut, the Bosnian conflict, and both wars with Iraq—including the feat of Sergeants Joshua Hamblin and Owen Mulder, who took down thirty-two enemy soldiers in a single day outside Baghdad in 2003. The military sniper has evolved into one of the most dangerous and highly-skilled warrior professions. They suffer through weather, terrain, and enemy action, lay unmoving for days on end, and take out their targets with unerring accuracy—proving that the deadliest weapon in any battle, anywhere in the world, is a single well-aimed shot.


Author
Publisher Simon and Schuster
Release Date
ISBN 1416503625
Pages 384 pages
Rating 4/5 (20 users)

More Books:

Crosshairs on the Kill Zone
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Charles W. Sasser
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-07-01 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

From the jungles of Vietnam to the unforgiving deserts of Afghanistan and Iraq, one breed of soldier has achieved legendary status in the arena of combat—the
Confirmed Kill
Language: en
Pages: 274
Authors: Nigel Cawthorne
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-12-06 - Publisher: Ulysses Press

Profiling the greatest military snipers of all time, this book presents exciting real-life stories of excellence in duty during wartime an don special operation
Inside the Crosshairs
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Col. Michael Lee Lanning
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-06-19 - Publisher: Ballantine Books

"The American sniper could be regarded as the greatest all-around rifleman the world has ever known. . . ." At the start of the war in Vietnam, the United State
Scream of Eagles
Language: en
Pages: 316
Authors: Robert K. Wilcox
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005-03 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

The author of Wings of Fury chronicles the history of the U.S. Navy's Fighter Weapons School known as Top Gun and describes how its naval aviators played pivota
Air Rifle Shooting for Pest Control and Rabbiting
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: John Bezzant
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-05-01 - Publisher: Crowood

The air rifle is a very effective weapon for the control of rabbits and vermin. This clearly written and fascinating book covers the following topics in a pract
Dead Center
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Ed Kugler
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-10-17 - Publisher: Ballantine Books

WHEN YOU'RE IN THE DEATH BUSINESS, EACH DAWN COULD BE YOUR LAST. Raw, straightforward, and powerful, Ed Kugler's account of his two years as a Marine scout-snip
None Left Behind
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Charles W. Sasser
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-12-08 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

The 10th Mountain Division is known as the most deployed unit in the U.S. Army. Today the War on Terror has drawn it to Afghanistan and Iraq. To Lieutenant Colo
Night Fighter
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: William H. Hamilton
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-11-01 - Publisher: Skyhorse

For readers of American Sniper, the stirring account of a life of service by the “father of the US Navy SEALs” One month after the Bay of Pigs fiasco, when
Patton's Panthers
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Charles W. Sasser
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-06-16 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

On the battlefields of World War II, the men of the African American 761st Tank Battalion under General Patton broke through enemy lines with the same courage w
Blood in the Hills
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Charles W. Sasser
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-04-01 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

A soldier’s eye view of Vietnam’s fiercest close-quarters battle upon its 50th anniversary Khe Sanh’s Hill Fights of 1967—as experienced by co-author Bo